Koodo Community
Question

The Light Phone & VoLTE for Prepaid

• 21 June 2023
  • 5 replies

Hello,

I just switched over to Koodo from Public Mobile as I saw some posts on forums stating that Koodo was more compatible than PM as I have been experiencing issues with making and receiving calls using my Light Phone on PM.

I am aware that it is not officially compatible with any networks in Canada yet but I have been using my LP perfectly fine for the last 2 years until PM upgraded to 5g. My phone has been having issues hearing people on the other side of the line since. 

The LP customer service team told me to make sure my carrier has VoLTE enabled. Since Koodo now has it enabled since Feb 22, 2023 on all prepaid plans, I made the switch and I am now on the $25 prepaid plan. I was told, by a Koodo rep that the $25 plan still includes VoLTE despite the plan showing 3g.

Unfortunately, the problem still persists and I cannot hear people when I make calls to them.

Any advice on how to resolve? I wouldn’t like to change phones preferably. Thank you!

This topic has been closed for comments

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

Hello,

I just switched over to Koodo from Public Mobile as I saw some posts on forums stating that Koodo was more compatible than PM as I have been experiencing issues with making and receiving calls using my Light Phone on PM.

I am aware that it is not officially compatible with any networks in Canada yet but I have been using my LP perfectly fine for the last 2 years until PM upgraded to 5g. My phone has been having issues hearing people on the other side of the line since. 

The LP customer service team told me to make sure my carrier has VoLTE enabled. Since Koodo now has it enabled since Feb 22, 2023 on all prepaid plans, I made the switch and I am now on the $25 prepaid plan. I was told that the $25 plan still includes VoLTE despite the plan showing 3g.