Koodo Community
Question

Unlimited text and picture messaging is not the bargain they advertised it to be.

Why is there the option for a picture+text message add-on available for non data plans if you can't use the text message feature without data? I am new to Koodo (ten days in, to be exact), and I signed up for a plan, but chose not to have data, because I have wifi access at home, and at work. If I can download apps on my phone, why pay for data? Only, when I attempt to send and receive picture messages (because my addon allows for unlimited text and picture messaging), I get errors. So I called in, and low and behold, I must purchase data in order to use this feature, that I am already paying for, and they have offered for those who don't have data access. The service agent reassured me that I could pay per message (a whopping .60 cents each!) or purchase a data plan, for an additional $25 more than my plan is now. I switched because a friend recommended this company to me, over my previous carrier, but I am beginning to wonder whether this provider offers the "bargain" it claims to. I may have a cheap plan, but the features I'm paying for can't be accessed unless I pay more. I don't like that one bit. Sorry Koodo, I might not be staying long.

This topic has been closed for comments

4 replies

Userlevel 1
Hi Keshia, I hope I can shed some light on this for you. Sending text messages can be done without data being turned on but sending and receiving picture messages requires enabled data. When you turn your data off, picture messaging won't work. If you have a HSPA Blackberry, RIM has built these phones to only have data enabled when a Blackberry data add-on is added to your account. Which phone do you have?