Koodo Community

Community

Solved

Billed extra data even though I changed my plan before the end of my bill cycle.


I was on a plan with 300mb of data. I was under the impression that if i was over my plan and changed it before the end of my billing cycle to the 500mb plan I would avoid being charged for the additional usage and would be billed for the 500mb plan? I was charged an additional 10$ for going over 143mb over my 300mb plan. Is this normal? Did I misunderstand what the sales person at the koodo kiosk told me? I was certain he told me to keep an eye on my data and I could change my plan to a larger plan before the end of the bill cycle to avoid getting charged extra?

5 replies

Userlevel 5
Hey MC! If you went over on the old plan then changed it you will be responsible to pay for the overages on the old plan. What he meant was to change it before you went over on the old plan.
So Rogers if you go over your data on your cell but upgrade before the end of the bill cycle Rogers compensates the data overage into the new plan. I do love Koodo but I used to work for Rogers and if rogers does that so should Koodo.
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
Angela Herley wrote:

So Rogers if you go over your data on your cell but upgrade before the end of the bill cycle Roge...

By that logic, Koodo should charge higher fees, "because Rogers does it." 

The different carriers have each tried to create a somewhat different niche for themselves. If they were all the same, there would be no need for other than on big supplier.

Userlevel 3
Angela Herley wrote:

So Rogers if you go over your data on your cell but upgrade before the end of the bill cycle Roge...

We can say that they all are the same in their respective categories. Full service Bhell=Robbers=TELUS Sidekick Fido=Koodo=Virgin Mobile
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
Hey Angela. I understand your frustration but if it happened one time I don't think it will be that much of a deal to. What the person said is valid if you changed BEFORE going over your limit not after like Hippie said. On the other hand you should acrivate data usage notification so that doesn't happen again

Reply