Koodo Community
Solved

WiFi Calling without cell service

• 17 November 2020
  • 9 replies

Hello,

Situation: I am currently living on a native reserve without a shred of cell service. There IS internet so Wi-Fi calling is my only option for making calls via my cellphone. I have an LG G6 and I have been using Wi-Fi calling here for 4 months now. I was able to set it up while I was outside the res and had access to my text messages via cell service.

Problem: due to covid, I am stuck here until further notice. I need to be able to use my phone. Today, for some reason my Wi-Fi calling stopped working, and I am unable to turn it back on. This normally wouldn’t be a problem if I was able to receive texts and could get the activation code from Koodo to turn it back on. I’m not sure what genius thought that a signal based text being the only way to activate Wi-Fi calling was a good idea, but perhaps this could be amended on Koodo’s side in order to allow people to get their Wi-Fi calling activation code through the self serve website?

Question: given that I can’t currently access my text messages without Wi-Fi calling, how can I activate my Wi-Fi calling again?

icon

Best answer by Silvia Koodo 17 November 2020, 21:45

@damaxman Hi! We are currently experiencing issues with Wi-Fi calling for both iPhone and android devices and clients are unable to use it. Tickets were logged and the issue is under investigation, you can try to turn off and back on the phone, later, hopefully it will work without activating it again.

View original

This topic has been closed for comments

9 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

You’re asking a very good question here. Not sure if a Koodo rep can help you out with this one, I’ll flag someone so he can shed some light on it. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

There was one  similar report in the forum a while back. The customer had to travel to a place where he had some cellular signal to reactivate the WiFi calling.