Koodo Community
Solved

Calls over wifi protocol

Hi, I live in an area where cell reception is spotty (Millbank, Ontario, Canada, if that matters). My previous phone supported wifi calling no problem. Now, I’m an early adopter of the pinephone, and I’m learning that every carrier supports calls over wifi in their own way, and it appears that koodo uses voip, and that leads me to a few questions.

1.  How does android detect if wifi calling is available? Is there a protocol that cell phones can use to query the carrier for available features? Is that standard?
  2. Is there a way I can use the information from my simcard to initiate a VoIP call on linux?

I’m a software developer, and use my cell phone as a primary way to call/contact people, so ensuring my pinephone can make phone calls wherever I am will not only make my life easier, but also possibly help other people using this phone.

I’d be willing to discuss this privately if there is NDA/proprietary information around this.

icon

Best answer by Goran 6 April 2021, 15:38

https://www.koodomobile.com/en/help/wifi-calling

This is the info Koodo provides about it. I'm afraid I'm not aware of the coding behind Android to answer better about how. You could try sending a private message to Koodo via Facebook messenger or dm via Twitter to get some technical assistance towards the better though.

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

https://www.koodomobile.com/en/help/wifi-calling

This is the info Koodo provides about it. I'm afraid I'm not aware of the coding behind Android to answer better about how. You could try sending a private message to Koodo via Facebook messenger or dm via Twitter to get some technical assistance towards the better though.

Userlevel 7
Badge +4