why am I getting a 20 meg download showing up overnihght when my month roll over

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: no longer relevant

For two months in a row my BlackBerry z30 shows that I used 20 Megs of data overnight when the month rolls over two my new month. In my case this occurs on the eighth of the month. My phone on both occasions is in sleep mode at home charging and hooked up to wifi. With the phones own utilities it shows only a few kilo bytes not 20 Megs. I called when this first happened and they basically said I must have done it somehow so I let it go but now this is twice so the problem is on koodo's end as I have done nothing to cause this exact amount of a data charge while I'm asleep on the eighth of the month.
Photo of blank

blank

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of blank

blank

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Just to be clear my phone doesn't show I downloaded 20 Megs the Koodo self serve app does.
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,968 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Okay so I just had the same problem recently and I called and here is how it's explained, the system doesn't bill in small increments, that's why you never see kg billed. Once it reaches the 20mb level it's billed
Photo of blank

blank

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
But I didn't use 20 meg overnight when th E phone in sleep mode and on wifi. With my typical usage I wouldn't use 20 meg until several days in. Thanks for your response though.
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,968 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
It is possible just as on my Z30 that during the sleep the Wi-Fi can disconnect and reconnect and during those times you can slowly build to 20mb .I'll see if I can find the exact answer I was given.
Photo of blank

blank

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Could be but why would it only occur on my roll over date? I end up calling the koodo tech and he's looking into it and will call later when he's figured it out.
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,968 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Photo of Yannick

Yannick

  • 43,998 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hi there, here is the explanation I wrote on another thread about the same issue. This is called "reservation" :) Thank you!

 Yannick, Employee

Hi there, let me bring a bit of clarification. There is no magic usage and it's actually called a “reservation” :) What happens is that an amount of data - usually 20MB, but up to 100MB - is automatically reserved for data sessions, to ensure uninterrupted browsing (e.g. less buffering when streaming videos, downloading files or apps, uploading of pictures to social sites like Instagram, viewing maps, etc). The reservation lasts one hour. If the total amount reserved is used, another reservation is made. If it hasn't been used in totality, the remaining amount is "released" until another session is started. On Self Serve, the usage meter will show the data amount that includes the reservation, while the data record (with more details) is showing the accurate amount used, without reservation. I hope it's more clear now :) 
Photo of blank

blank

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I don't see how. " reserving" an amount of data some how will ensure a smoother data flow later at some point?

I guess this feature was implemented this July because that when it first came to my attention. I have a 300 meg data plan and I manage a month of use with that so Koodo throwing in an extra 20 meg at best leads me to not being able to manage my data or worst throws me over my limit for the month where I get dinged so I'm not sure how I benifit f from this. Either way not happy much preferred the old way

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.