Whats the difference besides the SHOCK Free? Should I bother changing?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Answered
I'm thinking of changing my plan because of the "Shock Free" and the 500 minutes; however, I don't really see any changes, and for some reason I feel as if my current plan is better.

Current Plan:

Call Display Outbound
Conference Calling
Call Waiting
Provisioning Service Voicemail
Call Display
Call Forward Pay Per Use
Call Forward PPU Access
911 Government Fee
5pm Evenings & Weekends
Additional data $5/250MB
Unlimited SMS and MMS
Data 1GB

New Plan (SHOCK FREE):

1 GB + 1 GB BONUS Shock-FreeTM data500 Canada-wide anytime minutesCall DisplayVoicemailUnlimited Canada-wide Family CallingCall Waiting and Conference CallingAdditional data $5/100 MBUnlimited evenings and weekends (5pm) Unlimited messaging (text & picture)

If anyone can clarify, or suggest what I should do, it would truly be appreciated!Thank you!
Photo of Josen Edward Belandres

Josen Edward Belandres

  • 122 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • Unsure

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of David

David, Mobile Master

  • 83,374 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
You don't indicate how many minutes you currently have, nor the price you currently pay.

We also can't determine what is best for you, only offer info on the differences of the plans.
I shouldn't indicate the minutes and the price I pay? how come?
thanks for the reply, just a little vague, maybe not what I was looking for.
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,644 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
He's not saying you shouldn't, he's saying it's difficult to compare because you didn't include that information.

BTW the shock free plan has a full GB more than you have now.
Oh that completely makes sense. Both plans are 50$, while the current plan only has 100 minutes compared to the other plan that has 500 minutes.
Ah okay, seeing how that seems like it's a really good add on.
Thank you.
Photo of Dustin Sargent

Dustin Sargent

  • 232 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Shock free i believe it doesn't allow you to go over your data limit, so it shuts data off until your new billing cycle.
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,644 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
It sends you a message before you go over asking if you want to continue using data or want to block it. It also may offer you discounted blocks of data randomly it seems.

You're always in control that way.