Temporary Monthly Plan change

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
Can I change my monthly plan (to a more expensive plan) for just a short period of time and then switch back to my original plan for the next billing cycle? (my original plan is no longer offered so I'm scared to bump to another plan and then never get my original plan back).
My situation is that I know I will exceed my data and minutes, so I want a bigger plan to get me through the remaining billing cycle. But for the next billing cycle I want to go back down to my original plan because my usage will return to normal.
Photo of Amanda Johnston

Amanda Johnston

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 5 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Christian

Christian

  • 212 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi Amanda,
That is possible. However, I wouldn’t suggest it since it would make you lose your current expired plan. Also, changing a rate plan in the middle of a billing cycle would cause pro ration and might result in a high bill. Hope this helps

Christian D
Photo of Marcus Fenix

Marcus Fenix

  • 15,752 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
No, you won't be able to do that. The amount that you have in your rate plan is for a full billing cycle.

So when you switch from your old plan, you are charged extra additional usage on top of what you've already gone over (iirc).

On the new plan, you wouldn't have the full amount of usage, only what would be remaining in the billing cycle.

Plus you would not be able to switch back to your old plan if it's expired.
Photo of Timo Tuokkola

Timo Tuokkola, Mobile Master

  • 140,242 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
To clarify, what actually happens is that when you change your plan the minutes you were allowed for the month get prorated based on how much of the month is left. If you're already over this means that more of the minutes you have already used will count as overage. The effect is the same, just wanted to clarify the mechanism.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.