Switching plans without getting double charged

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: no longer relevant

I recently brought my own phone to Koodo and it said I should be getting 10% off my bill every month because of that. Well I am not seeing that 10% coming off..
another thing, when I brought my new phone I switched phone plans to one without data. Now I wanna change my phone plan again to one with data, but all I want to use it for is iMessage seeing as I think the other things are unnecessary when I'm out and about. I'm not sure how much data I will need just for using iMessage though. Another issue with wanting to change my plan again, the last time I changed my plan my bill was stupid expensive, I think I got charged for both plans in 1 month.. which seems silly seeing as I was only using one..
So how do I avoid getting charged double again and how much data should I be getting? and how can I make sure the 10% comes off?
Photo of Leonie Van De Wetering

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of John Burke

John Burke, Mobile Master

  • 71,346 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
To minimize getting "charged double", you should change your Plan as close to the last day of your current billing cycle as possible.
Photo of Dennis

Dennis, Mobile Master

  • 196,652 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Give Koodo a call and the 10% BYOD discount can be added. Note that when you get the BYOD discount you will forgo gaining positive Tab.

iMessage uses very little data (unless you start sending massive amounts of pics and videos, etc)
Just remember to turn off your other apps
Setting>Cellular>Use Cellular For>Not toggle off all the apps so they do not use data.
Using wifi also helps.

When you switch your plan your old plan will immediately end (and a prorated plan amount will be charged based on the days you have this plan). Note that your mins will be prorated too so if you used more minutes during the short period you will be subjected to overage charges.
When you switch to your new plan the new plan will be charged based on when you start (so only a prorated amount will be charged based on the days you started this plan until the next billing cycle). Note the new minutes that come with this new plan will also be prorated
Photo of Timo Tuokkola

Timo Tuokkola, Mobile Master

  • 142,676 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Just want to point out that you also get a prorated REFUND for the days you didn't use on the old plan.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.