suspend for snowbirds

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
When I go to suspend my phone before traveling to the States, it only gives me an option for 'Stolen' or 'Lost'. Do I have to call Koodo to tell them that I am just traveling?
Photo of Wendy King

Wendy King

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Daniel Kim

Daniel Kim, Mobile Master

  • 34,736 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
May I ask why you need to suspend your phone before going to the US? if you're worried about roaming charges You can pick one of the US roaming add-ons Or take out your sim while you're travelling. Or another alternative to the add-on is getting your phone unlocked by Koodo if you plan to go to the states often since I noticed you tagged iphone. And pick up a prepaid sim in the US after you get your phone unlocked.
Photo of KaneSlavik


  • 6,464 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Seasonal Hold is a rate plan change that you can do on Self Serve. After you log in, click on Rate plan & Addons, then click on Rate Plans underneath. You will be presented with a rate plan drop down box which will show you the selectable rate plans. You should see Seasonal Hold at the end of the list. It's $15/month for a maximum of 6 months. After 6 months, you are automatically put on the lowest rate plan available.
Photo of Mayumi

Mayumi, Mobile Master

  • 111,398 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Mind you, suspend your service doesn't mean the bill doesn't get paid. You still need to pay your monthly charge.
Photo of Humberto Giambrone

Humberto Giambrone

  • 4,900 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
Also note, you will not be able to return to your current plan but will have to select an in-market plan upon your return.
Photo of Wendy King

Wendy King

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Thanks to all of you!!! This forum is helpful because of good people like yous!!! I have now suspended my phone through the 'Seasonal Hold' which costs $15.00 a month. When I get back, if the plan I put on hold is still available I just reactivate it, if not, then I have to pick another plan. :)
Photo of Jonathan I

Jonathan I, Mobile Master

  • 114,344 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
We're glad to help. I must point out, though, that your old plan is now gone. You cannot reactivate it. You will have to pick a new one regardless.
Photo of Timo Tuokkola

Timo Tuokkola, Mobile Master

  • 137,132 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Unless it's an expired plan, it's not 'gone'. If it's currently an in market plan and it still is when she resumes service, she can simply select it again.