Support texting OC Transpo @ 560-560!

• Idea
  • Updated 11 months ago
  • Implemented
Hello,

I am an Ottawa resident who switched from TELUS to Koodo prepaid last month and generally love the service Koodo provides.

However, I was surprised and disappointed when I tried to text my bus stop at 560-560 and got: "Koodo does not support this service" as a response.

I understand you do not want to support premium texts, but, c'mon, this is free and directly maintained by the City of Ottawa. Many bus stops in the region don't have schedules posted. Our local buses aren't exactly punctual, so GPS schedule updates are a must-have feature.

Interestingly, Air MILES spam texts from 263-98 come through no problem... so I'm skeptical that it's purely a tech issue w/r/t short codes.

There is an OC Transpo app but it takes about two minutes to load and search for my stop... which chews up my data and also makes me late for the bus! Not a happy situation in -20 weather! Koodo, help keep me warm and on time for work! I'm confident you can help fix this issue. Thanks for listening.
Photo of Toffee Hazelnut

Toffee Hazelnut

• 110 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 5 years ago

Photo of Ivan

Ivan, Mobile Master

• 96,382 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
I'm neither in Ottawa nor do I use public transit, but I do support your idea.
Photo of Ashley

Ashley

• 51,386 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Thanks for taking the time to write to us Toffee! We're working on removing the block for this shortcode, it should be completed in about a week or so. I'll keep you updated as soon as I know more :)
Photo of Some random Mobile Master

Some random Mobile Master, Mobile Master

• 39,554 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
I don't live in Ottawa, but if something like this gets resolved this quick, my hat's off to Koodo and its reps! Seriously, this is an example of how you treat customers and have them stay! Kudos!
Photo of Toffee Hazelnut

Toffee Hazelnut

That's great, thank you Ashley!
Photo of Ashley