Incorrect website data leads to horrible customer service

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Planned
I live up in northern BC and was trying to assist my mom in getting a new phone which they had the galaxy s6 on for $120 with a small tab. Over the holidays many of the stores are closed in our area but we looked on the koodo website and found a local koodo store that opened on Jan 3rd. We went in on the third only to find out that the koodo find a store was wrong and this store hadn'the been a koodo provider in over a year and we needed to go in to smithers bc which was an hour drive away, which it was already late so we went in the next day(today) only to find out that the price was apparently a promo that ended that day. We asked if we could get the price and was told we'd have to call customer service... after an hour on the phone and having our cell die, we decided to drive home and call from there. We had to wait over an hour and a half and then another 20 minutes for a manager to basically be told that they weren't willing to do jack squat for us aside from a $50 credit, which after all the BS we had dealt with because of koodo felt like a big spit in the face! This was the worst customer service experience I've ever dealt with and it all stemed from koodo's lack of website management. If we knew we needed to go into smithers that would have been no problem but now it looks like we are all going through virgin. Customer service took 16 minutes apposed to 1.5 hours! Koodo, never again! I've attached a screenshot of the store in question.
Photo of Shawn Merkley

Shawn Merkley

  • 124 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • beyond frustrated

Posted 1 year ago

  • 2
Photo of Dennis

Dennis, Mobile Master

  • 187,022 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
I would post this on social media too
Photo of Shawn Merkley

Shawn Merkley

  • 124 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
That'sounds a good idea. I was just completely baffled that koodo wasn'the willing to make an exception for a promo for 1 day when the error occurred due to their bad information! Especially when we have been customers for years! Anyways, thank you for the good idea I didn'the really think of that. I will post it in the morning.
Photo of Bernard

Bernard, Official Rep

  • 75,528 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hey Shawn,

Was this fixed up for you? What store was it in Smithers you have gone into. While our independent dealers have no ability to adjust pricing since they would be losing money, we do and we make those decisions based on the circumstance. Have you sent us a private message on Facebook to look into the matter? 
Photo of Shawn Merkley

Shawn Merkley

  • 124 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi Bernard, no it was never resolved. I thought it was called totem audio but when I look at your site it says koodo/telus but the address is correct. They said they wouldn't be able to provide the sale because their store was open over the holidays and suggested I call customer service as they should be able to help us, which made sense. No I have not, my understanding was that private messages on Facebook was equivalent to calling customer service. I will do that. Thank you
Photo of Jru Gordon

Jru Gordon

  • 9,038 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Bernard, is it up to Koodo or the independent dealer (in this case "Mike's Audio Video Ltd" in Houston BC) to make sure that the listing is correct and up-to-date regarding whether or not that dealer sells Koodo products?
Photo of Bernard

Bernard, Official Rep

  • 74,962 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
It's up to us. The mistake of listing that dealer is totally our fault. No question about that. How it happened, I'm looking into that. Fix is to come in the next couple of days as we update the data base. There are thousands of locations you can buy our product and we do update the list frequently but somehow this was missed. To err is human. :-(