I changed my plan on the last day of my billing cycle - pro rating?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 9 months ago
I changed my plan on the last day of my billing cycle from $40 (500mb data) to the promotional $40 (1gb data), will the plan be pro-rated? I don't want to end up paying $80 this month instead of the normal $40. Thanks!
Photo of Rebecca

Rebecca

  • 94 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 9 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Paul Deschamps

Paul Deschamps, Mobile Master

  • 199,458 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Hi Rebecca, both plans are the same price so there will be no difference in price no worry there.
(Edited)
Photo of Rebecca

Rebecca

  • 94 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Hmmm when I go into selfserve, my rate plan is still the old one $40 (500mb of data) but when I go into my usage, it's showing I have 1gb of data. To make things a bit more confusing, Koodo still has my data turned off and says I need to pay $5 for another 100mb of data in this billing cycle.
Photo of Robert

Robert, Mobile Master

  • 103,714 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
That is weird Rebecca, the rate plan should have changed directly so you should have data. Wait one more day and I think it will solve your problem. But yeah, don't worry you won't get prorated as Paul said.
Photo of Rebecca

Rebecca

  • 94 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Okay! Thank you. So following that line of logic, I can switch to a new plan as long as:
  • 1 plan change per billing cycle
  • promotional plans (ie bonus data) aren't just for new customers, existing ones can sign up too
  • if the plan that I am changing to and from is the same price and same tab (both tab medium), I don't need to worry about prorating?
Thanks!
Photo of Paul Deschamps

Paul Deschamps, Mobile Master

  • 199,404 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
You will get prorated minutes if they're different so if you don't go over then no. So whatever day you change plans you'd take however many minutes are included in the plan and divide it by 30 days and then multiply it by however many days are left in the billing cycle. That would be how many minutes you have for the rest of that billing cycle, then next full billing cycle you'll have the full amount and going forward from there as well.
(Edited)