I added money to my prepaid and I haven't used any minutes or data and the money is already gone

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
prepaid account
Photo of colleen

colleen

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
  • frustrated

Posted 2 weeks ago

  • 2
Photo of Mats

Mats

  • 7,572 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Log in to your prepaid self serve account. Click on view transaction history. In there you will see where the money went.
Photo of David

David, Mobile Master

  • 86,056 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
You don't consume your minutes / texts / data by incremental dollars, rather you buy a base plan, which includes texts, and may include minutes and data. You may also purchase a bucket of minutes or data. Minutes and data decrement as you use them, as reported in your self-serve area. The dollars are consumed in the purchase of the plan & optional buckets.
 
Photo of BobTheElectrician

BobTheElectrician

  • 59,400 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
If there is enough money in your account, your baseplan will automatically renew every 30 days. Transaction history will tell you if this is what happened.
Photo of colleen

colleen

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
So I only use my SIM when I am in Canada, I added money so my account didn't close but basically its a waste of money then is what you are saying...   
Photo of David

David, Mobile Master

  • 86,056 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
That depends on what you want. If retaining your number, and having ease of set-up on arrival in Canada is important to you, then keep topping up your account. If getting a new SIM and number each trip is pain-free, then let it lapse.
Photo of BobTheElectrician

BobTheElectrician

  • 59,400 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
You can let it lapse for up to (but not including 90 days) before everything gets shut down permanently. Let's do it on the cheap.

Buy the basic $15 baseplan and a booster for minutes or data. These do not expire as long as your account is active. So you have service for 30 days.

If you don't need service over the next 88 days, don't bother adding money to your account. On day 89, or whenever you need service, renew your baseplan and your remaining buckets of minutes and data are good for another 30 days.

Rinse and repeat.
(Edited)