Facebook Privacy Update

  • 3
  • Article
  • Updated 3 years ago
Facebook recently changed it's privacy policy to allow anything you've ever listed as "public" to be fully discoverable and viewable by search engines. Many people post assuming Facebook has strict privacy in place to protect its users, but the fact is that most default settings are set to "public" anyways for this such as posts, videos and posts published from your desktop or mobile device.  (CBC) article: http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/hamilton/news/check-your-facebook-privacy-settings-your-old-posts-might-be-public-1.3288631

Luckily, there's a way to hit one button and set all your past "public" posts to "friends only," and we've got your back. It will take 1 minute and you'll be able to rest easy knowing that your photos and status updates are protected.

While you’re at it, we recommend browsing and ensuring you’re happy with all your security levels (profile, contact info, search engine visibility, etc).




*MOBILE STEPS* (desktop steps below)


STEP 1: While inside the Facebook app, look to the bottom bar and hit the “More” icon.

STEP 2: Tap “Privacy Shortcuts”

 

 

 STEP 3: Tap “More Settings”


 




STEP 4: Hit “Privacy”



 

STEP 5: Under “Who can see my stuff?” tap the second option listed.

 




STEP 6: Tap the “Limit Old Posts” button.




:) 





*DESKTOP STEPS* 


STEP 1: In Facebook, go to the top right and click on the lock icon. 







STEP 2: Navigate to “See More Settings.”







STEP 3: Open up “Limit Past Posts” and select the available option.








Voila. Exhale and smile.

:) 
Photo of Koodo Mobile

Koodo Mobile, Employee

  • 1,912 Points 1k badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Robert

Robert, Mobile Master

  • 107,634 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Thanks! Very useful 
Photo of Mitchell Palmater

Mitchell Palmater

  • 12,996 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Thanks!
Excellent post to get out to the people.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.