Explanation of plan changes.

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
Hello,

So I recently changed my plan from 1GB of Data to 2GB's of data.

My question is, how will this affect my bill? I have already paid for the month, and the usage says that I have 993/1024mb used, and above it I have 0/2048mb used. How much more will I be charged if I use some of the 2GB that I have?

I have never changed plans before, and so I assumed they would simply add the difference between my two plans. Obviously I understand now, that it doesnt work that way.

Anyone able to fill me in on how exactly this all work?

Thanks in advance.
Photo of IsykickI .

IsykickI .

  • 170 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jonathan I

Jonathan I, Mobile Master

  • 114,344 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
It's called proration. They give you credits for your old plan and then charges for the new one, plus a month of service.

So what you'll see on your next bill is: [Your old plan], [Date you changed your plan] up to [Billing cycle date] credits

Then another line saying: [Your new plan], [Date you changed your plan] up to [Billing cycle date].

Minutes will be pro-rated too, but since I'm assuming you went to the $74 plan (unless you're in QC or something), it won't matter.
Photo of IsykickI .

IsykickI .

  • 170 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I live in the quebec region so my plan went from 45 to 55.

So basically what your saying is, depending on what I use up from the new plan. That will determine how much extra I pay from now to the end of the cycle?

If I keep my data turned off for example until the end of the monthly cycle, I wont be charged anything extra? Then from the new cycle I would be now charged the 55?

am I right with this? Or am I completely off base?
Photo of Jonathan I

Jonathan I, Mobile Master

  • 114,344 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
No, because your new plan is effective immediately. Data isn't prorated. You're not being charged "extra", technically, it's just how the billing system works. They have to adjust it based on when you changed your plan. It will eventually fix itself.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.