Email headache!

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
I recently got the Galaxy Note 2. I must not have the email set up right because a couple of times a day emails that I have already read/deleted pop up again as new emails. How do you stop this?
Photo of Bernie Regenbogen

Bernie Regenbogen

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Sophia

Sophia, Mobile Master

  • 142,984 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
What email provider are you using? You probably set it to leave the messages on their server instead of deleting it after you fetch them using POP... but we need more details in order to help you Bernie :)
Photo of Bernie Regenbogen

Bernie Regenbogen

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
You're right. I have set them to delete never. I want to be able to eventually deal with them on my desktop so I don't want them deleted until I have had a chance to do that. If I delete them on my handheld will I have access on my desktop?
Photo of Bernie Regenbogen

Bernie Regenbogen

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I'm with Kool and they are on Telus network.
Photo of Sophia

Sophia, Mobile Master

  • 142,984 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Usually you can make a setting that a fetched email is marked as fetched. I haven't used POP mail for a several years, so I have no idea if you can even set that on your phone but see if there is an option for marking downloaded mails somehow so that they won't be downloaded again.
Photo of Rocky Balboa

Rocky Balboa

  • 20,414 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Correct me if I'm wrong but when I used outlook express in the settings it was called "leave a copy on the mail server" which sent a copy to your webmail as well as to your phone. When you checked this off it goes directly to your phone but not to your webmail.
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,988 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Yup but where is that setting in the email settings?
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,988 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
What email are you using? Did you sign into your Gmail account on the phone? Did you setup your Gmail using the email app on the phone as well?
(Edited)
Photo of Bernie Regenbogen

Bernie Regenbogen

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
My email program is Microsoft Outlook, not express. The phone is Samsung Galaxy Note 2.
The only settings I seem to have is to never delete emails or delete when I delete them from the inbox. I know the setting Rocky is talking about and it is not an option.
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,988 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
My email end with @gmail.com what does your email end with?
Photo of Timo Tuokkola

Timo Tuokkola, Mobile Master

  • 142,576 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
"Never delete emails" is the same as "leave a copy on the server".
Photo of Bernie Regenbogen

Bernie Regenbogen

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
That makes sense. Now I just need to find a way to have them posted only once. It must be the phone settings because I never had the problem with my BlackBerry.
Photo of Bernie Regenbogen

Bernie Regenbogen

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
To answer Chad I have one that is .com and one that is .ca
Photo of Chad Burr

Chad Burr, Mobile Master

  • 203,988 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Who is your email provider? It's not outlook or Microsoft. Mine is Gmail is yours hotmail?
Photo of Ian Shields

Ian Shields

  • 60 Points
Bernie I have the same problem. I have noticed that when I check the recycle there seems to be multiple copies of the emails that I delete. This number depends on the number of times I have previously deleted. The phenomenon occurs only during weekdays. I have talked to the provider, I have talked to KOODO and there is no help I therefore believe it is a Samsung quirk. To solve the problem I have change the setting to delete on server when deleted on phone. I now will not delete any important e-mail until I see it on my laptop later in the day. I had no problem with my Blackberry it in fact gave me the option to delete on the phone or the server.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.