Charged for data while on Shock-Free Plan .... ?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago

I receieved 4 text messages in a row (within literally 1 second) informing me I had reached 100% of my 1024mb limit as well as reached 100% of my 100mb limit and 90% of a second 100mb limit.

My data was never paused and never gave my authorization for the overage.  I just spent 10$ of overages in one second!!!!!!!!!

Please help me understand what is going on. 

MF 

Photo of MF

MF

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of Allan

Allan, Mobile Master

  • 56,976 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Could you post a screenshot of the texts to help us understand what happened here? You should have received a text at 50%, 90% and 100% and then should have stopped you at 100% and asked for you to text 'Y' for more.
Has it done what I mentioned above before?
(Edited)
Photo of Ranjan

Ranjan, Official Rep

  • 28,768 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hey MF - I see two lines on your account, and although both of them have a 'notify' preference for notifications once you reach 100% of consumption, neither has a block set at 100%. So while you were doing what you were, it looks like you reached and surpassed your limit, hence the additional charges.
The default set when you activated last December would have been to block and notify at 100%, so this may have been manually changed in your self-serve account - do you recall this at all?
Photo of MF

MF

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Thank you for your quick answer.  No.  I have never modified my preferences.  I accessed the preferences of my self-serve account for the first time today and I see no option to block.  I can select or deselect 'Yes! Send me text messages when I've reached my data usage.' and this is my only option.

Thank you for your help.

MF

Photo of Ranjan

Ranjan, Official Rep

  • 28,768 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hmm.. that's strange.
MF - would you mind shooting us a private message on Facebook? (you can use the icon at the bottom of this page). A rep will be able to validate that you're the account owner and help look into it from there.