Can i use my current positive tab towards a new phone on a new line

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

I'm still on the old Tab system and have got a positive Tab balance (phone was bought outright years ago). I'd like to add a new line to my account and, obviously, a new phone for that line.

My questions are

1: Can I use that positive Tab balance towards the cost of the new phone for the new line?

And 2: Regardless of the new line or phone, if I switch my current plan to a new plan what happens to that positive Tab balance? Do I get a credit for it?

Thanks for any help.
Photo of Garth

Garth

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Sophia

Sophia, Mobile Master

  • 141,558 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
You can only use your tab balance for your current line, not a new one. If you cancel this line, you'll lose that balance. You could purchase a phone on your current line and then cancel it, but then you'd have to pay off the remainder of the tab.
Photo of Garth

Garth

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Thanks Sophia.

And if I switch my current plan to a new plan, do I lose that positive Tab balance?
Photo of Mayumi

Mayumi, Mobile Master

  • 112,838 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
No, you don't loose your positive tab.
Do you want to keep your line AND add a new line?(you will have 2 lines)
If so...

You can buy a phone through your account/line using your positive tab, then give it to your 2nd line. Your tab balance will back to negative. 2nd line doesn't have tab balance.

If you switch your plan to current plan, you can still keep your positive tab until you use it.

So, I would change your plan to new plan first while you have positive tab.
Then buy a new phone with your positive tab. > your monthly charge will be new plan price + tab charge.
Then add a new line under your account. 2nd line can use your new phone and its monthly charge will be plan price only. And you continue to use your current phone.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.