Billed extra data even though I changed my plan before the end of my bill cycle.

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
I was on a plan with 300mb of data. I was under the impression that if i was over my plan and changed it before the end of my billing cycle to the 500mb plan I would avoid being charged for the additional usage and would be billed for the 500mb plan? I was charged an additional 10$ for going over 143mb over my 300mb plan.

Is this normal? Did I misunderstand what the sales person at the koodo kiosk told me? I was certain he told me to keep an eye on my data and I could change my plan to a larger plan before the end of the bill cycle to avoid getting charged extra?
Photo of MC LeBlanc

MC LeBlanc

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 2
Photo of HippieLongstocking

HippieLongstocking

  • 24,720 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hey MC!

If you went over on the old plan then changed it you will be responsible to pay for the overages on the old plan. What he meant was to change it before you went over on the old plan.
Photo of Angela Herley

Angela Herley

  • 60 Points
So Rogers if you go over your data on your cell but upgrade before the end of the bill cycle Rogers compensates the data overage into the new plan.

I do love Koodo but I used to work for Rogers and if rogers does that so should Koodo.
Photo of David

David, Mobile Master

  • 89,014 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
By that logic, Koodo should charge higher fees, "because Rogers does it." 

The different carriers have each tried to create a somewhat different niche for themselves. If they were all the same, there would be no need for other than on big supplier.
Photo of Hellothere

Hellothere

  • 990 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
We can say that they all are the same in their respective categories.
Full service Bhell=Robbers=TELUS
Sidekick Fido=Koodo=Virgin Mobile
Photo of Robert

Robert, Mobile Master

  • 103,858 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Hey Angela.

I understand your frustration but if it happened one time I don't think it will be that much of a deal to. What the person said is valid if you changed BEFORE going over your limit not after like Hippie said. On the other hand you should acrivate data usage notification so that doesn't happen again

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.