100MB vs 500MB?

• Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
I have an unlocked Samsung Focus that my friend gave to me for free since he got a Galaxy Note 2. From my research it seems Koodo will give me the best value. I can't decide between the $30 plan and the $45 plan though.

Both have basically the same stuff such as unlimited texting and whatnot, but I am wondering how much data I will need. The $30 plan has 100MB of data and the $45 one has 500MB. At home I use a ton of data, generally about 300-400GB per month. Obviously I won't be doing that, but still, 100MB seems like nothing. I don't know if it would be enough. I basically want to be able to browse the web wherever I am, pretty much as much as I want. I don't plan on streaming videos, but I may stream music every so often. I don't plan on playing games either.

Thanks,

EDIT: The $45 plan also has 200 minutes instead of 75, but I am a student and I really never call anyone. I doubt I would use more than 10 minutes per month. The only ones who ever actually call me are my parents, and those calls are infrequent and generally only last about 30 seconds.
Photo of Melbourne Marsden

Melbourne Marsden

• 238 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • magical.

Posted 5 years ago

Photo of John Burke

John Burke, Mobile Master

• 71,346 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
I'd say go with the 45$ Plan. Has a lot more value for just 15$ more.
Photo of Jonathan I

Jonathan I, Mobile Master

• 114,344 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
300 to 400 GB at home?? Good lord, stop torrenting so many movies and games. :P

You'll definitely want the $45 with 500 MB as a bumper for music and Facebook, some apps, etc. The overage rate is also very good, with an additional 500 MB coming in at $5. You say you don't call that much, which is fine, but the $45 data plan also has Unlimited incoming calls, a feature which is $10 to add on its own.

I would definitely recommend that one.

Melbourne Marsden