Koodo Community

Community

Solved

Iphone data usage problem......where is the data being used ?

How do you determine what is being used Data, I bought a iphone 4 and hooked it up to prepaid. and added data booster so when I need to use data outside the home, its available. I've noticed it online and its saying im using data but I don't think I've used it outside the home yet, Its hooked to my internet wifi here. Is there programs on the phone that allow it to use data....Its only 5mb's used so far for 4 days of service, but that can add up if it keeps going.... If theres programs you know of that I can shut it off, can you inform me? Im new to this iphone stuff! any help would be greatful!

14 replies

Userlevel 7
5MBs in 4 days? That's absolutely amazing!!! There is no problem with your phone. But to close background apps that may use data, double tap the home button and press and hold one of the apps at the bottom until they giggle with X's and hit the x's to close them Also, just letting you know that iPhone are only connected to WiFi when they are "awake(the screen is on). When the phone is "asleep"(the screen is off) then WiFi automatically turns off and data turns on. This is how the iPhone was designed and there's no way to change that.
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
Ahmad wrote:

5MBs in 4 days? That's absolutely amazing!!! There is no problem with your phone. But to close ba...

They don't have a setting so that wifi stays on even when the screen is off? That sucks, why the hell would they not make that an option in settings like on Android?
Userlevel 7
Ahmad wrote:

5MBs in 4 days? That's absolutely amazing!!! There is no problem with your phone. But to close ba...

Unfortunately not. I know, I don't understand it either but meh. PS please leave the apple bashing out (in case you were gonna come back and say "oh wow iphones...*insert comment here*" 😛
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
Ahmad wrote: