Koodo Community

Community

Solved

Changing from iPhone 4s to 5

hi
I'm new to Koodo and just wanted to make sure I do this correctly. My iPhone 4s is acting up so I'm getting an iPhone 5 from my daughter. are the SIM cards the same so that I can just move it from the 4 to the 5? If not, what's the correct procedure for making the change? I imagine she would also have to reset her phone to wipe it. And I wanna make sure I keep the same number. Thank you for any guidance

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4
The 4s takes a micro sim, the 5 takes a nano sim. You'll need to buy a new sim card from koodo (postpaid costs about $5). You'll need to call in to activate it since online sim swaps are disabled right now.
Timo Tuokkola wrote:

The 4s takes a micro sim, the 5 takes a nano sim. You'll need to buy a new sim card from koodo (p...

Do you know if the disabling of online sim swaps is temporary? Alternatively, could I get it activated at the Koodo kiosk?
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
What to do before selling or giving away your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch https://support.apple.com/en-ca/HT201351
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
You can also just cut the Sim. Nano standard is slightly thinner but it'll still work.
Goran wrote:

You can also just cut the Sim. Nano standard is slightly thinner but it'll still work.

interesting, I just looked it up and basically it looks like the micro sim just has more plastic around it that the nano, which can be carefully cut away - thanks
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
Goran wrote:

If you cut it wrong, or leave any kind of a rough edge though, you risk damaging the phone permanently. I would not recommend this just to save $5.
Goran wrote:

appreciate the advice Timo, not meaning to come across as wanting to save $5, was more around the convenience since we don't have a Koodo kiosk where I live, but I can order online.
Userlevel 6
Goran wrote: