Koodo Community

Community

Can I setup Personal Hotspot with iPhone with Prepaid Koodo account?

I have added $30 my Data Booster add-ons on my Prepaid account, but when I go to Setting > Cellular > Personal Hotspot in my iPhone 7, it would not let me. Can I use Personal Hotspot in Prepaid account?

53 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4
Yes, you should be able to set up your phone as a hotspot. I have no experience with iPhone, but I frequently use it on my Android. What error are you getting?
It is not much of an error, when I select "Set Up Personal Hotspot" from the iPhone setting, a message pops up saying "To enable Personal Hotspot on this account, contact Koodo"
I've tried different iPhone, same result. Is it true that Prepaid account in Koodo don't have the personal hotspot option?
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
EM wrote:

It is not much of an error, when I select "Set Up Personal Hotspot" from the iPhone setting, a me...

Well I'm on prepaid, and I definitely use the hotspot. In fact i used it only last week, because my husband forgot to download something on his tablet so I enabled it for him to use my phone to get it... and I have used it on several phones before.

I'm not sure what you'd need to contact Koodo for, but I'll post it in our liaison group and hopefully you'll get an answer soon 🙂
EM wrote:

It is not much of an error, when I select "Set Up Personal Hotspot" from the iPhone setting, a me...

I have the same issue. I picked up data plan for my tablet (iPad) , when I select "Set Up Personal Hotspot" from the iPad setting, a message pops up saying "To enable Personal Hotspot on this account, contact Telus". Why Telus? My APN setting is “sp.koodo.com”
EM wrote:

EM wrote:

EM wrote:

I also did reset for my iPad Network Setting, but it doesn’t help.
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
EM wrote:

@Elena: was your plan a prepaid plan? or the new tablet plan $15 for 3GB?