Koodo Community

Community

Solved

Air time overage problems


I am being charged airtime even though I've only used up 60 min. of my 200 min. plan. I've been charged $2.00 for 4min of calling? Why is this happening

10 replies

Userlevel 4
USA call?
Danny wrote:

USA call?

I live 2 hours away from the US border and the call was 100ft away from me
Userlevel 4
Danny wrote:

USA call?

I meant "call to a USA number"?
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
Check your usage in self-serve. Do you live/travel near the US border? Your phone may be locking on to a stronger US signal and roaming may be kicking in even though you are calling in Canada.

If this is the case, Koodo normally will reverse the charges if you call *611. You can then set up your "mobile networks" to log onto Koodo only, and ignore the automatic setting.
Userlevel 4
BobTheElectrician wrote:

Check your usage in self-serve. Do you live/travel near the US border? Your phone may be locking ...

The problem with that theory is that it would cost more than $4 for 2 mins roaming without a plan:

http://help.koodomobile.com/my-bill/charges-explained/long-distance-and-roaming-charges
BobTheElectrician wrote:

Check your usage in self-serve. Do you live/travel near the US border? Your phone may be locking ...

i live 2 hours away from the US border and  the call was 100ft away from me
Userlevel 7
Did you just start your service or recently change your plan?
Userlevel 7
It's probably proration, like Chad said. Check page 3 of your bill. Do you see 2 lines in the date section? It will show the activation date to your cycle date and then the following month under it. That means you only had a small amount of minutes to use during the first month.
How do I get my money back if I was prorated unknowingly?
Userlevel 7
Badge +4
Carmen Laht wrote:

How do I get my money back if I was prorated unknowingly?

Can you start your own post using this link?
https://community.koodomobile.com/koodo/topics/new

And we need more info about your issue.
What plan do you have and when did you change your plan?

"... if I was prorated unknowingly?"
It happens when you change your plan in mid billing cycle or when you first sign up.

Reply