Koodo Community

Community

Solved

Why didn't I receive a text to warn me that I was close to using all of my data?

I'm new to Koodo, I only joined in December 2014. Last billing cycle I was notified via text that I had reached 75% of my data usage towards the end of the cycle. Today I happened to check my usage on the self serve app and noticed that I have already gone over by 41MB, and I only have 1 day left in the billing cycle! I will be charged $5. I did NOT receive a text warning me that I was about to go over in this cycle. Aren't we supposed to get these texts warning us? If we don't get the text, can the charge be waived?

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4
CRTC wireless code checklist for consumers: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/info_sht/t15.htm The only obligatory notification mentioned on the page is the one regarding roaming in a foreign country. Data and roaming overages are capped. There may be some informal leniency policy during the initial bllling period as far as data is concerned, since most consumers don’t have a realistic idea of how much they really need. If you have an android phone, Settings => Data usage => Mobile data (turn ON) then Set mobile data limit (turn on). You can adjust warning and cut-off points individually. Turn your mobile data on or off according to your wishes. Since you are a new customer, give Koodo a call when your latest bill is ready. They may be willing to cut you some slack, if you would explain politely that you were expecting a similar text warning in future. Some useful links: http://koodomobile.com/en/on/datacalculator.shtml http://community.koodomobile.com/koodo/topics/data-and-how-to-make-the-most-of-it
Userlevel 6
I've been with koodo for quite some time and never missed a notification from them. They actually send you multiple texts. Are you sure you haven't received at least one of them. If you text a lot sometime they do get lost amongst all the other stuff.