Koodo Community

Community

Solved

Why am I being charged for picture messaging

I bought my mom the Moto G google phone. She had an old school phone before that and sending and receiving picture messages was no problem. When getting the new phone I ensured that her plan which included unlimited text and picture messaging would still be honoured and was told it will be. I understand that the new 4G phones use data for pictures now but if the plan states unlimited picture messaging shouldn't this somehow be accommodated? The teller at the Koodo desk said that Koodo's network can distinguish between picture messaging and internet data usage. Within 4 days of getting my mom the new phone she got a text from Koodo saying she has already used $10 worth of data. I went to her phone settings and saw that there is 3 MB of data used for picture messaging so why are we getting charged for it… I e-mailed koodo 3 days ago and haven't heard anything back. I'm a very busy student and do not have time to call and argue for an hour on the phone.

10 replies

Userlevel 7
it's possible that the phone automatically updated apps in the background when data was on. I recommend setting up apps so they update on wifi only.