Koodo Community

Community

Solved

What's eating data on a new phone?

How do you tell when and why you're using data? Admittedly I'm a smart phone newbie here. I just got the Samsung Note II a few hours ago but I have some technological smarts. I for sure haven't checked email or been on the internet - all I've done is set up my voice mail. Yet apparently I've already used 25 MB of my data. How? Is it getting eaten my some background function like reporting the weather on the home screen?

13 replies

Userlevel 7
Hi Samantha, If you want to check your usage for your data, go into Settings then select Data Usage, it will give you a list of what has been using your data in the background. Hope that helps 🙂
Userlevel 7
Any time data is enabled, your phone may fo things like update the news and weather, check for phone updates and upgrades or even just ping google services and say "hi, im here!, im active" To make sure this doesn't happen constantly, you can disable background data, also open apps and be sure they aren't set to update automatically. Alternatively you can shut data off and just use wifi where it's available. In the grand scheme of things 25mb isn't a lot of data. for example, Microsoft One Note for android is about 30mb. I suggest installing an app called 3g watchdog which will help you monitor and manage your data use. Hope this helps