Koodo Community

Community

Is the new Tab System fair?

Userlevel 2
Basically I'm going to upgrade towards a new phone, but the new tab system feels a bit cheap. My plan as of right now is $40 that I've been paying for the past 2-3 years and will take a certain % of the plan and contributes towards my old tab (pays off roughly $10/month). 

Now I recently visited a Koodo store and I had a full understanding of the new tab system. What I don't get is how does this benefit for me as a customer since the new tab system will add more money on top of my plan as suppose to literally take some % of the plan towards paying it off and not adding on top of it.

Now since I am eligible to get the new plans since my tab balance is $0, my only option to match my initial $40 a month is to get the crappy $30 plan + the $15 monthly with the moto x play, which will cost me $45. Not only will I pay more but will have overall less data (100mb as opposed to 400mb).

At this point I don't know since I don't want to change carriers since I still believe Koodo has the best service/price ratio out of all the cheap carriers.

32 replies

Userlevel 7
The plans with Fido and Virgin are pretty much the same as Koodo. They just have the "old" subsidy system where the cost of the phone is built into the price of the plan. The new Tab system Koodo put out is supposed to show people the true cost of owning handsets. It works, but it does negatively affect customers on the old system who want to upgrade. You'll have to take a higher plan to continue using the minutes/data you want with an upgraded device. There's really no way around it. You could always buy the device outright or put less down on the Tab initially but that's about it.
Userlevel 2
Jonathan I wrote:

The plans with Fido and Virgin are pretty much the same as Koodo. They just have the "old" subsid...